11135-65 Avenue Edmonton, Alberta T6H 1W3 · Traditional Lands of Treaty 6 First Nations

780-434-5819

info@westwoodunitarian.ca

A compassionate community of free religious thought, inviting all people to rest, grow, and serve the world.

Menu

Online Connections through the Canadian Unitarian Council

In this unprecedented time of physical isolation WITH electronic communication, the Canadian Unitarian Universalist community is evolving to provide a variety of ways to serve and support its members and friends.

Welcome to a weekly recap of CUC events happening over the next 6 weeks. Information about all the upcoming CUC events, including additional dates and times, and forms for registered events can be found on our Events page on our website. https://cuc.ca/events/

We invite Westwoodians (and others!!) to participate in any of the events listed below: 

CUC Update Session 5: A Zoominar, Part II – For Leaders On Planning AGMs During COVID-19 and Using Zoom as a Platform

Saturday, April 18, 1:00-2:30 p.m. ET

CUC staff host an in-depth tutorial on what is involved with planning an online AGM, voting, and using Zoom.

Users will need to register for this meeting: https://bit.ly/2UXTvBy

CUC Coffee House Connections

Saturdays, April 18 & 25
7 pm AT | 6 pm ET | 5 pm CT | 4 pm MT | 3 pm PT
You’re invited to join us for CUC Coffeehouse Connections every Saturday in April. These online gatherings bring us together virtually to connect across the country. Each gathering will have a different theme, such as music, social get-together, multigenerational storytelling times, online activities, or high tea. We’ll gather for about an hour and a half.

April 18: Music Circle – fill out the form below to share your musical skills.We welcome you all, whether you want to share your music or to appreciate the social connection.
To contribute your musical skills, please fill in this form so that the co-hosts have an idea of who’s appearing. There’ll be time for about 8-10 performances/ songs/ numbers. We’ll invite those who don’t get a slot this time to appear for our next Music Circle.

April 25: Storytelling – come hear a number of storytellers enchant you.
Join the events on Zoom: https://bit.ly/2Vrz7rr

Gathered Here

Gathered Here is a monthly online check-in for Canadian Unitarian Universalist young adults. Join other UU 18-35-year-olds on Zoom (a video-conferencing platform) for sharing of joys and concerns, deeper check-ins, prayerful reflections, and an opportunity to process current events with a spiritually grounded community.
Gathered Here has a new schedule for Spring 2020

April
Thursday, April 16, 9 pm ET
Monday, April 20, 2 pm ET
Thursday, April 30, 9 pm ET

May
Monday, May 4, 8 pm ET
Monday, May 25, 2 pm ET

The same Zoom invitation will be used for each meeting. Join by computer or smart device at https://bit.ly/3el3316. For join-by-phone information, and other details, please refer to the event on the CUC’s Event Calendar.Contact: casey@cuc.caGathered Here

Annual General Meeting Events

CUC AGM Online Voting Orientation
The 2020 AGM will be held entirely online. Delegates need to attend one of the six orientation sessions – sign up here. This is necessary as the voting process will differ from that used in previous years; the orientation will focus on how to use Zoom as a participant and using the online voting system. Participating in this online training will allow the AGM to run smoothly, as we won’t have the opportunity to assist with any technical issues on the day of the meeting.

Apr 16th – 4 pm PT | 5 pm MT | 6 pm CT | 7 pm ET | 8 pm AT    
Mon, Apr 27th – 4 pm PT | 5 pm MT | 6 pm CT | 7 pm ET | 8 pm AT  
Sun, May 3rd 
– 6 pm PT | 7 pm MT | 8 pm CT | 9 pm ET | 10 pm AT
Tue, May 5th 
– 4 pm PT | 5 pm MT | 6 pm CT | 7 pm ET | 8 pm AT  
Connect and Deepen – Virtual Gathering (Online)


April 26, May 10 & 24 (2nd Sunday of the month)
5 pm AT | 4 pm| ET, 3 p.m. CT, 2 p.m. MT, 1 p.m PT (90 minutes)
 – Register Now!

Connect and Deepen is a monthly online gathering for those seeking Canadian Unitarian Universalist connections.

There are many people across Canada who find themselves geographically separated from Unitarian Universalist meeting places. We welcome you to this on-line opportunity to gather with other kindred spirits in small groups to discuss matters of personal, spiritual, theological and lifestyle significance.  

We’ll gather online through Zoom in groups of up to 8. Participants are encouraged to plan to attend most of these sessions so that group cohesion and trust can develop.  While there is no cost to the program, we still require you to register below so that we can monitor interest and plan the number of break out groups or to cancel accordingly.

Register and access Zoom information here.

Questions? Please contact your facilitators at congregationallife@cuc.ca :  

  • Rev. Linda Thomson, Congregational Life Lead – Central/Eastern Regions
  • Joan Carolyn, Congregational Life Lead – BC/Western Regions

AGM Plenary Discussion 

Hosted By the CUC Board 

Thursday, May 14, 7:30 – 9:00 pm AT – Online via Zoom

Prior to the AGM on May 16, the CUC Board invites you to an informal dialogue amongst congregational delegates, leaders, board members, and CUC staff to discuss issues of importance to congregations, in support of the CUC’s visiongoals, and strategic priorities.

Join in via Zoom web meeting platform (information on the CUC’s AGM page)

Co-Chairs: CUC Board President and Executive Director

More information, and documents: please check the Annual General Meeting and Conference page for updated information.
CUC’s National Online Gathering Ceremony

Friday, May 15, 3:30 pm PT | 4:30 pm MT | 5:30 pm CT | 6:30 pm ET | 7:30 pm AT

We will gather across the country, virtually, on the Friday of what was to have been the start of the National Conference. Come, we will join together to celebrate our connections and our faith. Event details to follow.

CUC National Annual General Meeting
Saturday, May 16 from 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 pm AT

The Canadian Unitarian Council holds its Annual General Meeting (AGM) to elect members for the CUC’s Board of Trustees, vote on resolutions, and to attend to the business of the Council. The CUC’s member congregations choose delegates from among their own membership to represent their congregations and to vote on business matters. There is no charge to attend the AGM.

To protect the health of everyone, we recommend that delegates NOT gather together, as with previous AGMs and instead meet individually using ZOOM. Please register your congregation’s online delegates by April 15 here.

Further information will be sent to on-line delegates before the AGM.

Information on delegate selection can be found here.

More information, and AGM documents: please check the Annual General Meeting and Conference page for updated information.

Serving with Spirit: Stronger Together, Planning for Partnership – Online Workshop

Saturday, May 23, 10 a.m PT/ 11 a.m. MT/ 12 p.m. CT/ 1:00 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. AT– 4 hours duration
Register here. Registration deadline: May 15, 2020

Rev. Joan Van Becelaere, Joan Carolyn & Rev. Linda Thomson

Explore our potential for meaningful, creative congregational networking and partnerships. Together, we will learn how all congregations can come together, regardless of size, and gain strength from shared wisdom

Please Note: We require a registration of 14 at the average rate for this webinar to run. Please register as soon as possible and CUC will notify you at registration closure regarding feasibility of this event.

Pipelines, Democracy and Aboriginal Title: A Conversation with Dr. Niigann Sinclair
Sunday, May 24, 2020, 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. ET
Join Dr. Niigaan Sinclair in a conversation about how non-Indigenous people can be in solidarity with Indigenous Nations when they are divided. This session will explore issues around Aboriginal land title, hereditary vs. colonial leadership, consent, consultation, and the various layers of justice to be considered when addressing issues such as climate action. This session is intended for settlers who want to engage in relationship building and reconciliation with Indigenous peoples and communities.

Niigaanwewidom James Sinclair is Anishinaabe and originally from St. Peter’s (Little Peguis) Indian Settlement near Selkirk, Manitoba. He is a respected author, editor and regular commentator on Indigenous issues for CTV, CBC, and APTN Niigaan also teaches courses in Indigenous literature, cultures, histories, and politics at the University of Manitoba. He is a proud Treaty One member. The son of Senator Murray Sinclair who was the Chief Commissioner of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC), Niigaan has been steeped in conversations related to reconciliation and comes with a wealth of lived experience with the complexities of implementing reconciliation on a political and grassroots level.
Purchase Tickets at Eventbrite

Social Justice Roundtable

Erin Horvath, Social Justice Lead will be hosting a discussion group focused on Activism and Social Justice in a time of Physical and Social Distancing. What does social justice work look like now? How can we be most effective during this time? Join us on evening of April 30 to explore this topic. More details, including time and online meeting links, will be available on our website.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Leave a Comment

Welcome Member